ANNUAL CHURCH CHARGE CONFERENCE – MINUTES December 29, 2024 at the Ely United Methodist Church

Call To Order: Ad Council Chair Sheri Rue called the meeting to order at 11 AM. She briefly explained the purpose for our annual Charge Conference and the contents of the packet of materials which had been distributed to attendees. The Proposed 2025 Budget was included in the packet but since we will not have a new pastor until 2025 we will only be voting on the Nominations.

Attendees (24): Cathy Aldrich, Lucy & Butch Diesslin, Fran Douglas, Bev & Dan Johnson, Linda Hane, Scott Meland, Kathy & Steve Nelson, Anne & David Olson, Margie & Mark Olson, Bob & Pat Olson, Pam Ransom, Sheri Rue, Donna & Norm Rusco, Jay & Jeanne Tomlinson and Mike & Pam Turnbull.

Minutes: Jeanne Tomlinson read the minutes from our 2023 Charge Conference. Pam Turnbull moved that they be approved as read; second by Linda Hane. Motion approved. Pam also moved that the Ad Council be authorized to review and approve the 2024 Charge Conference minutes at their first meeting in January 2025; second by Cathy Aldrich. Motion approved.

Membership Report 2024: Total membership as of December 29, 2024 was calculated using the previous year's reported figure of 2002 and adjusted for 2 deaths and was listed as 200. Sheri explained how we would be doing some work on our membership records, along with our new pastor, in order to make it more current.

Nominated Church Leadership 2025:

The following persons were nominated for the UMC Designated Committees:

Administrative Council:

Chair: Sheri Rue Vice Chair: Pam Turnbull **Recording Secretary: Jeanne Tomlinson** Lay Member to Annual Conference: Jay Tomlinson Alternate Lay Member to Annual Conference: Mike Turnbull Lay Leader: Patty Rusco Pastor Parish Relations Chair: Steve Nelson Board of Trustees Chair: Bryan Rusco Church Treasurer: Mark Olson Program Chairs/Coordinators Worship: Dan Johnson Superintendent of Sunday School: Chris Urbas Parish Nurse/Care: Tiffany Zemke & Devon Luthens Connections: Jay Tomlinson Memorial: Marge Forsberg President UMW: Margie Olson (elected by the UMW)

Board of Trustees: Chair: Bryan Rusco		
<u>Class of 2025</u>	<u>Class of 2026</u>	<u>Class of 2027</u>
Margie Olson	Brady Luthens	Phil Hegfors
Pam Turnbull	Gary Tedrick	Bryan Rusco
Jacob Rue	Eric Urbas	Nick Mattila
Pastor Parish Relations Committee: Chair: Steve Nelson		
<u>Class of 2025</u>	<u>Class of 2026</u>	<u>Class of 2027</u>
Duane Bieber	Devon Luthens	Cathy Aldrich
Gerald Niskala	Liddy Sheppard	Bob Olson
Vicki Podomonick	Lucy Luthens	Steve Nelson
Nominations and Personnel: Chair: Pastor Kay Carter		
<u>Class of 2025</u>	<u>Class of 2026</u>	<u>Class of 2027</u>
Linda Hane	Mark Olson	TBA
Sue Peterson	Patty Rusco	TBA
TBA	TBA	TBA
Finance Committee: Chair: Sheri Rue (Ad Council Chair)		
Pastor Kay Carter		
Lay Member to Annual Conference Jay Tomlinson		
Lay Leader Patty Rusco		
Financial Secretary Patty Niskala		
Church Treasurer Mark Olson		
Building Fund Treasurer Margie Olson		
Memorial Fund Treasurer Margie Olson		
Benevolence Fund Treasurer Jay Tomlinson		
Offering Money Counters Pam Turnbull, Margie Olson, Patty Niskala, Cathy Aldrich		
Annual Audit Committee: Richard Floyd, Dave Markwardt, Scott Meland.		

Nominations were open to the floor for the TBA positions. Pam Turnbull, Jay Tomlinson, Kathy Nelson were nominated & seconded for the 2027 class of Nominations & Personnel Committee by Mike Turnbull/Margie Olson, Jeanne Tomlinson/Margie Olson and Margie Olson/Jay Tomlinson respectively. Pam and Jay accepted their nominations. Kathy Nelson will consider it and get back to the Ad Council with her decision.

Cathy Aldrich moved that we approve all the submitted nominations; second by Linda Hane. Motion approved.

Sheri Rue closed the meeting with a prayer. The meeting adjourned at 11:21 AM.

Respectfully submitted, Jeanne Tomlinson, Ad Council Secretary